This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic is made up of 32 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Dominican Republic. Information on all primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Dominican Republic alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic

There are 32 regions in Dominican Republic in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Azua Provincia de Azua1.208,857Azua Azua59,139
Baoruco Provincia de Baoruco2.91,480Neiba Neiba18,670
Barahona Provincia de Barahona3.179,239Santa Cruz de Barahona Santa Cruz de Barahona77,160
Dajabon Provincia de Dajabón4.62,046Dajabon Dajabón16,398
Duarte Provincia Duarte5.283,805San Francisco de Macoris San Francisco de Macorís124,763
El Seibo Provincia de El Seibo6.89,261Santa Cruz de El Seibo Santa Cruz de El Seibo23,547
Elias Pina Provincia de Elías Piña7.63,879Comendador Comendador12,070
Espaillat Provincia Espaillat8.225,091Moca Moca61,834
Hato Mayor Provincia de Hato Mayor9.87,631Hato Mayor del Rey Hato Mayor del Rey35,999
Hermanas Mirabal Provincia de Hermanas Mirabal10.96,356Salcedo Salcedo45,299
Independencia Provincia de Independencia11.50,833Jimani Jimaní6,567
La Altagracia Provincia de La Altagracia12.182,020Salvaleon de Higuey Salvaleón de Higüey123,787
La Romana Provincia de La Romana13.219,812La Romana La Romana208,437
La Vega Provincia de La Vega14.385,101Concepcion de La Vega Concepción de La Vega102,426
Maria Trinidad Sanchez Provincia María Trinidad Sánchez15.135,727Nagua Nagua33,862
Monsenor Nouel Provincia de Monseñor Nouel16.167,618Bonao Bonao73,269
Monte Cristi Provincia de Monte Cristi17.111,014San Fernando de Monte Cristi San Fernando de Monte Cristi17,001
Monte Plata Provincia de Monte Plata18.180,376Monte Plata Monte Plata15,532
Nacional Distrito Nacional19.965,040Santo Domingo Santo Domingo2,201,941
Pedernales Provincia de Pedernales20.21,207Pedernales Pedernales11,072
Peravia Provincia de Peravia21.169,865Bani Baní66,709
Puerto Plata Provincia de Puerto Plata22.312,706Puerto Plata Puerto Plata146,000
Samana Samaná Province23.91,875Samana Samaná11,432
San Cristobal Provincia de San Cristóbal24.532,880San Cristobal San Cristóbal154,040
San Jose de Ocoa Provincia de San José de Ocoa25.62,368San Jose de Ocoa San José de Ocoa21,148
San Juan Provincia de San Juan26.241,105San Juan de la Maguana San Juan de la Maguana72,950
San Pedro de Macoris Provincia de San Pedro de Macorís27.301,744San Pedro de Macoris San Pedro de Macorís217,899
Sanchez Ramirez Provincia Sánchez Ramírez28.151,179Cotui Cotuí41,641
Santiago Provincia de Santiago29.908,250Santiago de los Caballeros Santiago de los Caballeros1,200,000
Santiago Rodriguez Provincia de Santiago Rodríguez30.59,629Sabaneta Sabaneta16,380
Santo Domingo Provincia de Santo Domingo31.2,995,211Santo Domingo Este Santo Domingo Este-
Valverde Provincia de Valverde32.158,293Mao Mao48,297