This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic is made up of 32 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Dominican Republic. Information on all primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Dominican Republic alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic

There are 32 regions in Dominican Republic in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Santo Domingo Provincia de Santo Domingo1.2,995,211Santo Domingo Este Santo Domingo Este-
Nacional Distrito Nacional2.965,040Santo Domingo Santo Domingo2,201,941
Santiago Provincia de Santiago3.908,250Santiago de los Caballeros Santiago de los Caballeros1,200,000
San Cristobal Provincia de San Cristóbal4.532,880San Cristobal San Cristóbal154,040
La Vega Provincia de La Vega5.385,101Concepcion de La Vega Concepción de La Vega102,426
Puerto Plata Provincia de Puerto Plata6.312,706Puerto Plata Puerto Plata146,000
San Pedro de Macoris Provincia de San Pedro de Macorís7.301,744San Pedro de Macoris San Pedro de Macorís217,899
Duarte Provincia Duarte8.283,805San Francisco de Macoris San Francisco de Macorís124,763
San Juan Provincia de San Juan9.241,105San Juan de la Maguana San Juan de la Maguana72,950
Espaillat Provincia Espaillat10.225,091Moca Moca61,834
La Romana Provincia de La Romana11.219,812La Romana La Romana208,437
Azua Provincia de Azua12.208,857Azua Azua59,139
La Altagracia Provincia de La Altagracia13.182,020Salvaleon de Higuey Salvaleón de Higüey123,787
Monte Plata Provincia de Monte Plata14.180,376Monte Plata Monte Plata15,532
Barahona Provincia de Barahona15.179,239Santa Cruz de Barahona Santa Cruz de Barahona77,160
Peravia Provincia de Peravia16.169,865Bani Baní66,709
Monsenor Nouel Provincia de Monseñor Nouel17.167,618Bonao Bonao73,269
Valverde Provincia de Valverde18.158,293Mao Mao48,297
Sanchez Ramirez Provincia Sánchez Ramírez19.151,179Cotui Cotuí41,641
Maria Trinidad Sanchez Provincia María Trinidad Sánchez20.135,727Nagua Nagua33,862
Monte Cristi Provincia de Monte Cristi21.111,014San Fernando de Monte Cristi San Fernando de Monte Cristi17,001
Hermanas Mirabal Provincia de Hermanas Mirabal22.96,356Salcedo Salcedo45,299
Samana Samaná Province23.91,875Samana Samaná11,432
Baoruco Provincia de Baoruco24.91,480Neiba Neiba18,670
El Seibo Provincia de El Seibo25.89,261Santa Cruz de El Seibo Santa Cruz de El Seibo23,547
Hato Mayor Provincia de Hato Mayor26.87,631Hato Mayor del Rey Hato Mayor del Rey35,999
Elias Pina Provincia de Elías Piña27.63,879Comendador Comendador12,070
San Jose de Ocoa Provincia de San José de Ocoa28.62,368San Jose de Ocoa San José de Ocoa21,148
Dajabon Provincia de Dajabón29.62,046Dajabon Dajabón16,398
Santiago Rodriguez Provincia de Santiago Rodríguez30.59,629Sabaneta Sabaneta16,380
Independencia Provincia de Independencia31.50,833Jimani Jimaní6,567
Pedernales Provincia de Pedernales32.21,207Pedernales Pedernales11,072