This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic is made up of 32 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Dominican Republic. Information on all primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Dominican Republic alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic

There are 32 regions in Dominican Republic in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Azua Provincia de Azua1.208,857Azua Azua59,139
Peravia Provincia de Peravia2.169,865Bani Baní66,709
Monsenor Nouel Provincia de Monseñor Nouel3.167,618Bonao Bonao73,269
Elias Pina Provincia de Elías Piña4.63,879Comendador Comendador12,070
La Vega Provincia de La Vega5.385,101Concepcion de La Vega Concepción de La Vega102,426
Sanchez Ramirez Provincia Sánchez Ramírez6.151,179Cotui Cotuí41,641
Dajabon Provincia de Dajabón7.62,046Dajabon Dajabón16,398
Hato Mayor Provincia de Hato Mayor8.87,631Hato Mayor del Rey Hato Mayor del Rey35,999
Independencia Provincia de Independencia9.50,833Jimani Jimaní6,567
La Romana Provincia de La Romana10.219,812La Romana La Romana208,437
Valverde Provincia de Valverde11.158,293Mao Mao48,297
Espaillat Provincia Espaillat12.225,091Moca Moca61,834
Monte Plata Provincia de Monte Plata13.180,376Monte Plata Monte Plata15,532
Maria Trinidad Sanchez Provincia María Trinidad Sánchez14.135,727Nagua Nagua33,862
Baoruco Provincia de Baoruco15.91,480Neiba Neiba18,670
Pedernales Provincia de Pedernales16.21,207Pedernales Pedernales11,072
Puerto Plata Provincia de Puerto Plata17.312,706Puerto Plata Puerto Plata146,000
Santiago Rodriguez Provincia de Santiago Rodríguez18.59,629Sabaneta Sabaneta16,380
Hermanas Mirabal Provincia de Hermanas Mirabal19.96,356Salcedo Salcedo45,299
La Altagracia Provincia de La Altagracia20.182,020Salvaleon de Higuey Salvaleón de Higüey123,787
Samana Samaná Province21.91,875Samana Samaná11,432
San Cristobal Provincia de San Cristóbal22.532,880San Cristobal San Cristóbal154,040
Monte Cristi Provincia de Monte Cristi23.111,014San Fernando de Monte Cristi San Fernando de Monte Cristi17,001
Duarte Provincia Duarte24.283,805San Francisco de Macoris San Francisco de Macorís124,763
San Jose de Ocoa Provincia de San José de Ocoa25.62,368San Jose de Ocoa San José de Ocoa21,148
San Juan Provincia de San Juan26.241,105San Juan de la Maguana San Juan de la Maguana72,950
San Pedro de Macoris Provincia de San Pedro de Macorís27.301,744San Pedro de Macoris San Pedro de Macorís217,899
Barahona Provincia de Barahona28.179,239Santa Cruz de Barahona Santa Cruz de Barahona77,160
El Seibo Provincia de El Seibo29.89,261Santa Cruz de El Seibo Santa Cruz de El Seibo23,547
Santiago Provincia de Santiago30.908,250Santiago de los Caballeros Santiago de los Caballeros1,200,000
Nacional Distrito Nacional31.965,040Santo Domingo Santo Domingo2,201,941
Santo Domingo Provincia de Santo Domingo32.2,995,211Santo Domingo Este Santo Domingo Este-