This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic is made up of 32 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Dominican Republic. Information on all primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Dominican Republic alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic

There are 32 regions in Dominican Republic in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Dominican Republic
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Nacional Distrito Nacional1.965,040Santo Domingo Santo Domingo2,201,941
Santiago Provincia de Santiago2.908,250Santiago de los Caballeros Santiago de los Caballeros1,200,000
San Pedro de Macoris Provincia de San Pedro de Macorís3.301,744San Pedro de Macoris San Pedro de Macorís217,899
La Romana Provincia de La Romana4.219,812La Romana La Romana208,437
San Cristobal Provincia de San Cristóbal5.532,880San Cristobal San Cristóbal154,040
Puerto Plata Provincia de Puerto Plata6.312,706Puerto Plata Puerto Plata146,000
Duarte Provincia Duarte7.283,805San Francisco de Macoris San Francisco de Macorís124,763
La Altagracia Provincia de La Altagracia8.182,020Salvaleon de Higuey Salvaleón de Higüey123,787
La Vega Provincia de La Vega9.385,101Concepcion de La Vega Concepción de La Vega102,426
Barahona Provincia de Barahona10.179,239Santa Cruz de Barahona Santa Cruz de Barahona77,160
Monsenor Nouel Provincia de Monseñor Nouel11.167,618Bonao Bonao73,269
San Juan Provincia de San Juan12.241,105San Juan de la Maguana San Juan de la Maguana72,950
Peravia Provincia de Peravia13.169,865Bani Baní66,709
Espaillat Provincia Espaillat14.225,091Moca Moca61,834
Azua Provincia de Azua15.208,857Azua Azua59,139
Valverde Provincia de Valverde16.158,293Mao Mao48,297
Hermanas Mirabal Provincia de Hermanas Mirabal17.96,356Salcedo Salcedo45,299
Sanchez Ramirez Provincia Sánchez Ramírez18.151,179Cotui Cotuí41,641
Hato Mayor Provincia de Hato Mayor19.87,631Hato Mayor del Rey Hato Mayor del Rey35,999
Maria Trinidad Sanchez Provincia María Trinidad Sánchez20.135,727Nagua Nagua33,862
El Seibo Provincia de El Seibo21.89,261Santa Cruz de El Seibo Santa Cruz de El Seibo23,547
San Jose de Ocoa Provincia de San José de Ocoa22.62,368San Jose de Ocoa San José de Ocoa21,148
Baoruco Provincia de Baoruco23.91,480Neiba Neiba18,670
Monte Cristi Provincia de Monte Cristi24.111,014San Fernando de Monte Cristi San Fernando de Monte Cristi17,001
Dajabon Provincia de Dajabón25.62,046Dajabon Dajabón16,398
Santiago Rodriguez Provincia de Santiago Rodríguez26.59,629Sabaneta Sabaneta16,380
Monte Plata Provincia de Monte Plata27.180,376Monte Plata Monte Plata15,532
Elias Pina Provincia de Elías Piña28.63,879Comendador Comendador12,070
Samana Samaná Province29.91,875Samana Samaná11,432
Pedernales Provincia de Pedernales30.21,207Pedernales Pedernales11,072
Independencia Provincia de Independencia31.50,833Jimani Jimaní6,567
Santo Domingo Provincia de Santo Domingo32.2,995,211Santo Domingo Este Santo Domingo Este-